Corporate Citizen of the Americas Companies Selected

The Trust for the Americas, with support of the Organization of American States (OAS), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and AES Corporation, congratulates the winners of the 2012/2013 Corporate Citizen of the Americas (CCA) Award.

This year, the Selection Committee reviewed applications in three categories: Vulnerable Communities, Economic Opportunities and Citizen Security. The following companies were chosen as winners:

In the category of Vulnerable Communities,  Digicel for its program “Education in HaitiDigicel - B.

In the category of Economic Opportunities, IBM Latinoamérica for its program “The Corporate Service Corps


In the category of Citizen Security,  CEMEX for its program “ PIAC – Programa Integral de Autoconstrucción Asistida

Cemex, B

About the CCA Award
The private sector is playing an increasingly important role in developing solutions to overcome poverty in communities throughout the Latin America and the Caribbean. The Trust’s annual Corporate Citizen of the Americas Award (CCA) encourages this trend by choosing from among those companies who have accepted the challenge and contributed the development of the hemisphere’s people. The award formally recognizes a company that has initiated an innovative program which benefits the community in which it operates and can serve as a model to promote socially responsible practices and actions by other corporations.
More at:

About the Selection Committee
The 2012/2013 Award Selection Committee was comprised of Scarlett Alvarez, Chief Stakeholder Management for Global Utility at AES Corporation; Hans Schulz, the Vice President for the Private Sector and Non-Sovereign Guaranteed Operations at the Inter-American Development Bank; and Albert R. Ramdin, Assistant Secretary General, Organization of American States.

Leave a Reply